Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited

Todays Daily Prompt says….

What is your earliest memory? Describe it in detail, and tell us why you think that experience was the one to stick with you.

Hmmm…thats really a tough one….the earliest childhood memory…because there are so many…its really difficult to choose one amongst them….

But let me share one with you….I guess I was just 4 or 5 may be…..my maternal grandfather….used to smoke hookah…..which made a peculiar sound whenever he suck the smoke inside his mouth….something like bubbles in water….I was always fascinated by the way he made that sound…..but I was always told by all the elders that hookah is only meant for my grand dad (Nanaji)….and should never be touched….

Whenever I noticed that he was smoking hookah…I used to go sit beside him just to listen to that sound of hookah…..and whenever he was away….Nanaji always ensured that it was dismantled….so that I could never get my hands on it….

But I guess…that is what the most peculiar habit of kids is…you hush them away from something and that is the one they want….One fine day….somebody came over to meet Nanaji and since it was urgent…I don’t know what it was…but he forgot to dismantle the hookah and just left it on one side of the gallery he used to sit in….and went away….

That was it….I got a chance to find the hookah all alone by itself….everybody else…my mom, uncle, cousins  was inside the house…I was the only one in the gallery…. I thought let me just suck it once and enjoy the sound all by myself….and I did…I did suck the pipe once and though I was successful in taking the smoke inside…the moment I did….my cousin brother came over….and I just stood stunned….obviously left the hookah but could not throw the smoke out of my mouth because of fear that he might get to know that I was fiddling with hookah and then I will be trashed by everybody….

And as I am told by everybody else….since I did not take out the smoke…my face started turning red….eyes too….my cousin started screaming and calling everybody else and I was more and more scared…..and further tightened the lips to not let the smoke escape my mouth…as if people will not come to know….as soon as all the elders gathered…they saw me….were very scared….tried to open my mouth…but I was being stubborn….finally they started tickling me and I opened my mouth and a little smoke burst out of my mouth…they lay me on floor on my stomach and started patting my back to get if any else was left inside me….

Nobody said anything to me then….they were very concerned…but what a thrashing I got later….but as much as I remember the moment my Nanaji arrived back he was very embarrassed and concerned worrying about what could have happened if somebody had not found out timely….and was then always very very conscious about leaving his hookah all by itself……

There is a lesson I learnt from the incident….never ever touch the hookah….and try and follow what elders say…but I guess the second lesson was only learnt to forget…since there were many more times I disagreed and made them fall in situations….creating more memories to remember now….

Nanaji is no more….but I really loved him a lot…..since he was the only grand dad I had….my paternal grand father had died when I was too young….I still remember Nanaji and how much he loved me….and somehow every time I remember him….this incident knocks off my memories right at once….. Love you Nanaji….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited

  1. sarahneeve says:

    Strange how it is as children we always did the opposite of what we were told!

Leave a Reply

